Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday #20 - The Thing About the Truth and Eve & Adam

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Be sure to post a link to your Waiting on Wednesday below!


This week's pre-publication "We can't wait to read it!" selections are...

Release Date: July 10, 2012
Published by: Simon Pulse

In this humorous love story from the author of Two-Way Street, an unlikely romance is the best sort of surprise - but the wrong secret can ruin everything. Kelsey's not going to let one mistake ruin her life. Sure, she got kicked out of prep school and all her old friends are shutting her out. But Kelsey's focused on her future, and she's determined to get back on track at Concordia High.
Isaac's been kicked out of more schools than he can count. Since his father's a state senator, Isaac's life is under constant scrutiny - but Concordia High's his last stop before boarding school, so Isaac's hoping to fly under the radar and try to stay put for a change.
When Kelsey and Isaac meet, it's anything but love at first sight. She thinks he's an entitled brat, and he thinks she's a stuck-up snob. Kelsey's happy for the first time in months, and Isaac's never felt this way about anyone before...But nothing's ever completely perfect. Everyone has secrets, and Isaac and Kelsey are no exceptions. These two may have fallen hard, but there's one thing that can ruin is all: the truth. (Summary from Goodreads)

This looks like a good YA romance (what secrets are they keeping from each other!) I always enjoy reading contemporary YA books interspersed with my fantasy ones :)

~

Release Date: October 2, 2012
Published by: Feiwel & Friends

Sixteen-year old Evening Spiker lives an affluent life in San Francisco with her mother, Emma Rose, a successful geneticist and owner of Spiker Biotech. Sure, Evening misses her father who died mysteriously, but she's never really questioned it. Much like how she's never stopped to think how off it is that she's never been sick. That is, until she's struck by a car and is exposed to extensive injuries. Injuries that seem to be healing faster than physically possible.
While recuperating in Spiker Biotech's lush facilties, she meets Solo Plissken, a very attractive, if off-putting boy her age who spent his life at Spiker Biotech. Like Evening, he's never questioned anything...until now. Solo drops hints to Evening that something isn't right, and Emma Rose may be behind it. Evening puts this out of her mind and begins her summer internship project: To simulate the creation of the perfect boy. With the help of Solo, Evening uncovers secrets so big they could change the world completely. (Summary from Goodreads)

This sounds perfectly syfy for me! Awesome! If you haven't read Partials by Dan Wells, I don't want to spoil anything for you so I'm just going to say that it sounds like this book will be a wonderful read-alike to Partials which I LOVED! Plus, these two authors are both authors that my students love and ones that are well established in YA, and that goes a long ways as well with this librarian. 


What are you waiting on this week?

6 comments:

  1. I am looking forward to Eve and Adam as well! And it reminded me of Partials (which I loved as well) too! Thanks for reminding me to stalk for this book once it release~

    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great picks! I have Eve and Adam on my Wish List already, but The Thing About the Truth sounds really good, too. I love contemporary novels, and this one sounds like a romance with a twist. Secrets are always juicy fodder for us readers ;-)

    Thanks for stopping by BlookGirl earlier! <3

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Thing About the Truth is already on my TBR. I look forward to reading it.

    My WOW: http://breathofbooks.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  4. I enjoyed Partials as well, and agree that Eve and Adam sounds like it will be similarly fun! I thought for some reason it was already on my TBR list, but it wasn't, so I've added it now! Thanks for the recs!

    Courtney @ Fuzzy.Coffee.Books

    ReplyDelete
  5. Nice picks, lots of good reading.

    http://thecharacterconnection.blogspot.com/2012/06/waiting-on-wednesday.html

    ReplyDelete
  6. Awesome picks! I definitely want to check these two babies out. Thanks for sharing!

    MaryAnn
    Chapter by Chapter

    ReplyDelete