Monday, December 31, 2012

Top 10 Tuesday #31 - Books I Resolve to Read in 2013...


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the team over at Broke and the Bookish! Leave a link to your Top 10 below!

Happy New Year! 

Top 10 Books I Resolve to Read in 2013...

1. Storm by Brigid Kemmerer

2. Also Known As by Robin Benway

3. Wolf Pact by Melissa de la Cruz

4. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
 
 and then The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson

5. Orleans by Sherri L. Smith

6. Cold Fury by T. M. Goeglein

7. The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

8. Sweet Shadows  by Tera Lynn Childs

9. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

10. Insignia by S.J. Kincaid



What's on your Top 10 this week?

Sunday, December 30, 2012

Review: Indomitable by J. Meyers

Indomitable 
Author: J. Meyers
Series: Intangible, Novella 0.75
Release date: December 22, 2012
Published by: Indie!
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"Slavery is theft -- theft of a life, theft of work, theft of any property or produce, theft even of the children a slave might have borne." ~Kevin Bales, Understanding Global Slavery

200 years ago a slave named Jonas endured the most hideous crimes against humanity because of the free license to do whatever, whenever all because of one word...SLAVERY. One of the most horrible words in existence.

Except in this story there's a dark twist of bloody revenge...

My thoughts: Jonas was one of my favorite characters from Intangible, Book 1 of the Intangible Series! A vampire with a soul, morals and humanity! This is exactly the thing that kept me watching Buffy and Angel for all those years! Oh how I love a character who doesn't fit the mold they are supposed to fit! Give me a girlie girl who loves pink and dresses who also hunts, fishes and wants to be a plumber and you've just given me a character I will probably love! There is just something about characters like this that don't fit their expected mold that I am drawn to in books, movies and LIFE as well! So to learn more about Jonas...why he is the way he is, his history, and ultimately his story from "the beginning" right up until he meets Sera! Except, this time it's through Jonas that we get to experience that first impression being made.

Final thought: Oh how I can't wait for Book 2!

View all my reviews

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Review: The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress

The Friday Society 
Author: Adrienne Kress
Release date: December 6, 2012
Published by: Dial/Penguin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

3 young women:
1. The assistant to the amazing and exotic magician, The Great Raheem.
2. The right-hand gal to Lord White, a prestigious member of Parliament and secret, genius inventor.
3. The self-defense teaching assistant to Sir Callum Fielding-Shaw.
After meeting at a Gala thrown by the upper crust of London while coming to the aide of each other in their own way, they become entangled deeper and deeper in murder, mystery and intrigue. When it becomes clear that these devious happenings are getting too dangerous, they try to enlist the police to help, but it's very clear that the police couldn't care less about what 3 young ladies have to say.
It's up to Cora, Nellie and Michiko to solve these hideous crimes they believe are all connected before it's too late!

My thoughts: This was an action-packed thriller from beginning to end! I loved how the story moved from one girl to the other throughout the whole book. Multiple perspectives worked perfectly for this story! Each girl had such a different but similar story that I was instantly rooting for them each after meeting them. Each girl was strong in her own way, but also needed to grow to become who she was at the end...to become her own hero! Oh how I loved that message! :)

I do have to say that the only reason I didn't give this 5 stars, was that here and there (especially in the beginning) were (in my opinion) some serious flaws in using present day sayings like, "...hot young blonde..." and "...totally obsessed with..." and "...super high voice..." which completely took me out of the story and historic setting every single time! This really flustered me! I was even wondering if I'd be able to continue the story at one point in the beginning. Now, to be fair, I did read an ARC from NetGalley so I'm crossing my fingers that these were altered after this particular version of the book was loaded on NetGalley. After the beginning quarter, or eighth, of the book they didn't show up so much which kept it at a 4 for me instead of dropping it even lower. 

The Steampunk technology and clothing was deliciously fun and interesting. There were things I've seen or read before, but there were also new creations to soak up which really made me ever so happy to keep reading and reading. I loved the setting of London in the turn-of-the-century with it's growing vision of industrialism, but also it's darkness of opium dens, poverty and murder. Each setting for each girl's home, or daily routines, was also just as fabulous in its details and explanations of background and day-to-day happenings along with the actual places themselves.

Final thoughts: This would make the BEST TV SHOW!!! If you are fan of Firefly or Warehouse 13, you would LOVE THIS! Anyone who loves the Sherlock Holmes movies, or The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen this is a MUST READ for you!! If you have read, and loved, Kady Cross's The Girl in the Steel Corset and The Girl in the Clockwork Collar, then THIS IS FOR YOU! BUT, if you haven't read them then READ THOSE NEXT! Start with the very inexpensive prequel, The Strange Case of Finley Jayne as an eBook! 

I can't wait to see what's next from Adrienne Kress! Check out her fun blog which includes Steampunk Tuesdays! Will we see more of The Friday Society? I truly hope so!
View all my reviews 

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Book Trailer Thursday #49 - Through the Ever Night and Winter Witch


Book Trailer Thursday is a feature inspired by Once Upon a TwilightWe are hoping to promote not only new books that are out or are soon to be out on the shelves, but to also promote the creation of book trailers themselves! Make sure to post a comment below and let us know what you've found out there this week!

This week’s trailers:

Release Date: January 8, 2013
Published by: HarperTeen

This first book was very interesting and I loved meeting Rossi! She is very cool! I had a hard time connecting with either of the main characters, but love the secondary characters that they surrounded themselves with and the ones that they met on their epic adventure. I have very high hopes for book 2...I guess we'll see in January! :) 

As for the book trailer, I'm actually very disappointed in it. :( The first one was SO good! This one is just a cookie cutter of SO many out there. It's very been-there-done-that! 

My review of Under the Never Sky with the first awesome book trailer and a very cool video of Rossi showing us her office and some of the drawings she's done of the world she's created! 


Release Date: January 9, 2013
Published by: St. Martin's Press

The haunting music sets just the right tone for this bewitching story! :)

What are you waiting on this week?

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday #48 - The Winter Witch and Also Known As


"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Be sure to post a link to your Waiting on Wednesday below!

This week's pre-publication "We can't wait to read it!" selections are...

Author: Paula Brackston
Release Date: January 29, 2013
Published by: St. Martin's Press

In her small Welsh town, there is no one quite like Morgana. She has never spoken, and her silence as well as the magic she can't quite control make her a mystery. Concerned for her safety, her mother quickly arranges a marriage with Cai Bevan, the widower from the far hills who knows nothing of the rumours  that swirl around her. After their wedding, Morgana is heartbroken at leaving, but she soon falls in love with Cai's farm and the rugged mountains that surround it, while slowly Cai himself begins to win her heart. It's not long, however, before her strangeness begins to be remarked upon in her new village. A dark force is at work there--a person who will stop at nothing to turn the townspeople against Morgana, even at the expense of those closest to her. Forced to defend her home, her love, and herself from all comers, Morgana must learn to harness her power, or she will lose everything. (Summary from Goodreads)

I love the thought of this silent girl who slowly overcomes her shyness in order to fiercely protect those around her. 


I'm not sure which cover is the right cover since NetGalley has the one on the left, and Goodreads has the one on the right! I guess we'll see when it's on the shelves in bookstores! 

Author: Robin Benway 
Release Date: February 26, 2013
Published by: Bloomsbury

Being a 16-year-old safecracker and active-duty daughter of international spies has its moments, good and bad. 
Pros: Seeing the world one crime-solving adventure at a time. Having parents with super cool jobs. 
Cons: Never staying in one place long enough to have friends or a boyfriend. 
But for Maggie Silver, the biggest perk of all has been avoiding high school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations. Then Maggie and her parents are sent to New York for her first solo assignment, and all of that changes. She'll need to attend a private school, avoid the temptation to hack the school's security system, and befriend one aggravatingly cute Jesse Oliver to gain the essential information she needs to crack the case...all while trying not to blow her cover. (Summary from Goodreads)

Doesn't this sound awesome! I just got it from NetGalley/Bloomsbury and I'm really hoping it ends up being a read-alike for Ally Carter's Heist Society series that I LOVE! There are too few books like this out there in YA right now. So I'm crossing my fingers and I'll let you know near the end of January how it is. 

What are you waiting on this week?

Friday, December 21, 2012

Our Week in Books...


This is our week in books at Libby Blog! 
This feature is not our own original idea and is inspired by so many others that are out there (esp. IMM by Story Siren and Stacking the Shelves by Tynga's Review) with the goal of sharing our new books and getting to know one another a bit better in the book blogging world. If you have a similar post for the week, please share it in the comments so we can comment back...

Happy Winter Solstice!

Ok folks, BRACE YOURSELF! This is apparently The Monkey Edition! I had no idea that little stinker was doing that during the whole thing! I blame being cooped up indoors too long during a blizzard...


Bought...
A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel originally by Madeleine L'Engle, adapted by Hope Larson (Farrar, Straus and Giroux/MacMillan)
Incredible Insects Q & A by Sally Tagholm and George McGavin (DK Publishing)

From the Library...
Iron Daughter by Julie Kagawa (HarlequinTeen)
Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa (HarlequinTeen)

For Review from NetGalley...
Also Known As by Robin Benway (Bloomsbury)


For the Blog Tour...
Empty by K.M. Walton (SimonPulse)

From MacMillan...
Poison Ivy by Amy Goldman Koss (SquareFish/MacMillan)

From the author...
Trafficked by Kim Purcell (Viking/Penguin)



What did you get for your libby this week?

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Review: Curses! Foiled Again by Jane Yolen

Curses! Foiled Again 
Author: Jane Yolen
Illustrator: Mike Cavallaro 
Release date: January 8, 2013
Published by: First Second
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Aliera Carstairs is a high school girl, a good student, a great fencer, and oh, The Defender! That's right! She's The Defender of Faerie thanks to the new "practice foil" that her mother purchased for $2 at a rummage sale! Now that she understands WHO she is, she needs to understand WHAT her purpose is. The Seelie Court is under attack and only Aliera and Caroline, her best friend and cousin, are the key to saving them all. Dive into Aliera's world again in book 2 of the Foiled series by Jane Yolen!

My thoughts: This was just as fun as the 1st book! I loved diving right in where we left off at the end of book 1! The illustrations are still just as great as they were last time, but the colors are what really make it for me. The colors are a greenish/grayish and white scheme, BUT when the Fey world shows up they are in COLOR! Bright beautiful colors!

Last thoughts: If you haven't tried this series, or if you haven't tried a graphic novel ever, or recently, this series is a MUST! Plus, it's an easy morning or afternoon read! What could be better than that!? So go grab Foiled and then Curses! Foiled Again by Jane Yolen. You won't regret it!


Curious about book 1? 
Click here to read my review of Foiled by Jane Yolen
View all my reviews

Mid-Winter's Eve Hop...

Welcome to our stop on the Midwinter's Eve Giveaway Hop at Libby Blog from December 21-27 co-hosted by Oasis for YA and I Am a Reader, Not a Writer! There are 170+ blogs in this hop; please stop by the other blogs too for your chance to win some great prizes!

Enter below for a chance to CHOOSE ONE BOOK from those shown below + swag!
After Ever After by Jordan Sonnenblick (Pb)
Angel by James Patterson (Pb)
Forest Born by Shannon Hale (ARC)
The Girls of No Return by Erin Saldin (ARC)
Hallowed by Cynthia Hand (Signed ARC)
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold (Pb, Movie tie-in cover)
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (ARC)

If you win, we will contact you for your book choice and addy...
GOOD LUCK! 

Rules...
*Must be a blog follower.
*Must live in the U.S. to enter.
*Must be 13 or older to participate.
Libby Blog is not responsible for any lost or damaged items in the mail. The winner will be notified via email and must respond with their address and book selection within 48 hours, or a new winner will be selected.

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Book Trailer Thursday #48 - Prophecy and Onyx


Book Trailer Thursday is a feature inspired by Once Upon a TwilightWe are hoping to promote not only new books that are out or are soon to be out on the shelves, but to also promote the creation of book trailers themselves! Make sure to post a comment below and let us know what you've found out there this week!

This week’s trailers:

Author: Ellen Oh
Release Date: January 2, 2013
Published by: HarperTeen

I've seen this book around a bit, but for some reason the cover hasn't enticed me to even take a look at the summary on Goodreads. This book trailer on the other hand, completely sucked me in and I HAD to go read the summary ASAP after watching it! That, to me, equals a well done book trailer HarperTeen! 


(Lux, Book 2)

Release Date: August 14, 2012
Published by: Entangled Publishing

Since Opal came out, I was just searched some Lux book trailers, and I found this one for Onyx that I had not seen before. It sure makes the book seem awful steamy, but I promise you the majority of the book is about the secret of living aliens living among us and trying to survive--plus, the romance ;)

What are you waiting on this week?

SO MANY Cover Reveals...

Here's the one I'm the MOST excited about of course...
 
Author: Kady Cross 
Release date: May 21, 2013
Published by: Harlequin Teen

Oh how I CANNOT WAIT for this one! SQUEE! ~Ange

LOVE the title! And, that cover is gorgeous with that green. ~Rachel


Blood of Eden, Book 2
Author: Julie Kagawa 
Release date: April 23, 2013
Published by: Harlequin Teen

Ditto on this one for me too! Book 1 was EPIC! 

Of course, they did re-work the covers on this series though which always frustrates me!!! :( I like them ok I guess, but now they won't match on my shelves! :( *cries* ~Ange


Cold Fury, Book 2
Author: T.M. Goeglein 
Release date: August 20, 2013
Published by: Putnam Juvenile

Of course they changed the covers for the series on this one too, so I'll have another series that won't match! :( I know I'm such a baby, but jeesh! 


Of Poseidon, Book 2
Author: Anna Banks 
Release date: May 28, 2013
Published by: Feiwel & Friends

Sexy cover! ~Rachel


Hundred Oaks, Book 4
Release date: December 1, 2013
Published by: Sourcebooks Fire


Author: Lisa Burstein 
(Author of Pretty Amy)
Release date: March 2013
Published by: Entangled Teen

Setting this one up as a journal is a cool idea. ~Rachel

Author: Stacey Jay  
(Author of Juliet Immortal)
Release date: July 23, 2013
Published by: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Oh how I LOVE this cover! Gorgeous! ~Ange

What do you think? Any favorites?