Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Book Trailer Thursday #61 - The Rising by Kelley Armstrong

Book Trailer Thursday is a feature inspired by Once Upon a TwilightWe are hoping to promote not only new books that are out or are soon to be out on the shelves, but to also promote the creation of book trailers themselves! Make sure to post a comment below and let us know what you've found out there this week!

Author: Kelley Armstrong 
Release Date: April 2, 2013
Published by: HarperTeen

Things are getting desperate for Maya and her friends. Hunted by the powerful St. Cloud Cabal and now the Nast Cabal as well, they're quickly running out of places to hide. And with the whole world thinking they died in a helicopter crash, it's not like they can just go to the authorities for help.
All they have is the name and number of someone who might be able to give them a few answers. Answers to why they're so valuable, and why their supernatural powers are getting more and more out of control. Maya is unprepared for the truths that await her, but she'll have to face them if she ever hopes to move on with her life. Because Maya can't keep running forever. (Summary from Goodreads)

I can't wait for this! I LOVED the Darkest Powers trilogy and this Darkness Rising Trilogy has been building and building....
This book trailer is PERFECTION HarperTeen! Absolute PERFECTION! WOW! I want this book ASAP now after watching this and I wasn't even sure I wanted to finish this series...but now...WOW! Just, WOW!

What did you find out there this week?

Review: Orleans by Sherri L. Smith

Orleans 
Author: Sherri L. Smith
Release date: March 17, 2013
Published by: Putnam Juvenile/Penguin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Delta has endured storm after storm. 

Then the Fever came, which eventually brought the Wall.

The fierce Fen de la Guerre is an OP and number 2 in command in her tribe. Tribe is life in the Delta.

Daniel Weaver is a scientist hoping to save them all, but what he carries with him could destroy them all.

Thrown together, they are each other's only hope whether they want to admit it or not. 

Will they be able to navigate this wasteland of Orleans, save them all like Daniel hopes, and help Fen deliver on a dying wish? Only time will tell, and they're running out...


My thoughts: Fascinating and horrifying! I feel like I've been put in one of those old washing machines that literally twists you up and squeezes you out over and over again! Smith has taken the event of Hurricane Katrina in 2005, and created a continuing, horrifying future based from that which I pray to the Gods will NEVER happen! It's a timeline with hurricane after hurricane. The first few storms allow a year for recovery even though they are very intense on the Saffir-Simpson Category rating system. Except that's where things begin to go very, very wrong because next there are two right on top of one another, one Category 4, July 27 of 2017, and another, a Category 5 on July 29 of 2017.  They can't even keep track of the casualties anymore at this point. Two years later...Hurricane Jesus slowly makes its way from one end of the Delta to the other and it is the strongest storm they've ever seen; so strong in fact that they can't even categorize it! They just guess at how strong it was and at how many people are left in the Delta.
Smith's "documents", timeline, the images that separate the "Before", "After", and the "Parts" are BRILLIANT! They set it all up for me! I have been gushing about this book to whomever has seen it in my hands and have dragged it everywhere with me! My ARC looks a bit like it went through a storm at this point which is rather unusual for me since they tend to look brand new when I'm done knowing I want to put them in one of our giveaways. :( I guess it will have to be a "gift" instead. :) (Update: I already passed it on to my best girlfriend when I picked my girlie girls up from school! LOL!) 
NOW, she certainly did NOT "white-wash" anything for anyone in this future. This is definitely a Young Adult book, or 8th grade at the youngest, in my personal and School Librarian opinion. Of course, that's just my opinion as a generality.  I was a VERY different creature in middle school as an only child living with adults, books, PBS, and the news...I would've been able to handle something like this easily. I also watched the movie Power of One around that age and it rocked me to my core changing my life completely! This would certainly fit as a read-alike to Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins! 
Society in the Delta has turned quickly into exactly what "those crazies" as I like to lovingly call those Doomsday Preppers on the NatGeo Channel are prepping for. (Of course in the back of mind I eye the gun safe during those commercials, and think, "I could totally take a Zombie if I had to!" Or, "I could protect my family if I had to." But training for it and sleeping in a spider hole by choice? HECK NO! Yuk!) Those folks would be SPOT ON in this world! Yikes! What those folks predict and prepare for!?...That's exactly what happens, and fast! :(
What I loved the most, was that Smith made sure to create a main character who was absolutely butt-kicking, strong, and amazingly resilient beyond anything I could possibly imagine when she should have been one of the most fragile people in the Delta! Fen de la Guerre survives over and over again, and when I tell you that she survives...she survives many of the same horrors that the Nazi concentration camps specialized in. And she's 15! That's right! And just wait until you find out what she has with her throughout all but the very beginning of the book. Fen has just crept right up onto the step just below Finley Jayne as my most favorite butt-kicking character ever...I'll have to think about it for awhile, but she might even jump ahead of her! She probably will! She blows my mind! See! I'm gushing! Talk about a force for good in a world that seems as if it has gone completely bad, bad, bad!
But, of course it hasn't! That's the brilliance of it all that Smith has put together here! There's Mr. Go. Oh, wait until you meet him! He's brilliant, and wonderful, and good, good, good! There's Daniel, who's risking everything to save everyone! There's Lydia, a chieftain, who teaches Fen to love again and teaches her who and how she wants to be someday. To hope again. There's even the smuggler, McCallan, who risks it all everyday to bring things over the Wall to them. For personal gain, yes, but there's so much risk involved that the personal gain has got to be a joke in the end! Most of all there's Enola.
Hope is everything. Hope for a cure. Hope for the future. Hope for peace. Without hope, what else is there? Hope is everything.
My Orleans Soundtrack...
I always listen to music, but once in a while there are specific songs, artists, or albums that jump out at me while reading a book. These three become ones that I couldn't get enough of while I was reading this book!

Barton Hollow by The Civil Wars - "Miles and miles in my bare feet. Still can't lay me down to sleep" "I'm a dead man walking." 

Seven Devils by Florence + The Machine - "Seven devils all around me and I'll be dead before the day is done." 

My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark by Fall Out Boy - "Writers keep writing what they write, Somewhere another pretty vein just died. I've got the scars from tomorrow and I wish you could see that you’re the antidote to everything except for me. A constellation of tears on your lashes, Burn everything you love, then burn the ashes. In the end everything collides, My childhood spat back out the monster that you see."

Do you have any to add to my soundtrack if you've read Orleans? I'm always looking for new music!
View all my reviews

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #62 - Nameless and Dance of Red Death

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Be sure to post a link to your Waiting on Wednesday below!

This week's pre-publication "We can't wait to read it!" selections are...

Author: Lili St. Crow
Release Date: April 4, 2013
Published by: Razorbill

When Camille was six years old, she was discovered alone in the snow by Enrico Vultusino, godfather of the Seven--the powerful Families that rule magic-ridden New Haven. Papa Vultusino adopted the mute, scarred child, naming her after his dead wife and raising her in luxury on Haven Hill alongside his own son, Nico. 
Now Cami is turning sixteen. She's no longer mute, though she keeps her faded scars hidden under her school uniform, and though she opens up only to her two best friends, Ruby and Ellie, and to Nico, who has become more than a brother to her. But even though Cami is a pampered Vultusino heiress, she knows that she is not really Family. Unlike them, she is a mortal with a past that lies buried in trauma. And it's not until she meets the mysterious Tor, who reveals scars of his own, that Cami begins to uncover the secrets of her birth...to find out where she comes from and why her past is threatening her now.  (Summary from Goodreads)

This sounds like a dark, mysterious tale. I can't wait to find out what is hidden in Cami's past! 


Author: Bethany Griffin
Release Date: June 11, 2013 
Published by: Greenwillow Books

In Dance of the Red Death, Araby's world is in shambles--betrayal, death, disease, and evil forces surround her. She has no one to trust. But she finds herself and discovers that she will fight for the people she loves, and for her city.
Her revenge will take place at the menacing masked ball, though it could destroy her and everyone she loves...or it could turn her into a hero.
With a not to Edgar Allan Poe, Bethany Griffin concludes her tragic and mysterious Red Death series with a heroine that young adult readers will never forget. (Summary from Goodreads)

I can't wait to find out what happens to Araby next! Griffin left us with such a cliffhanger in book 1! And these covers...WOW! 

What are you waiting on this week?

Monday, March 25, 2013

Fairy Tale Giveaway Hop

Welcome to our stop on the Kick-butt Characters Giveaway Hop at Libby Blog from March 26 - April 2 co-hosted by I Am a Reader, Not a Writer, The Book Rat and A Backwards Story. There are 100+ blogs in this hop; please stop by the other blogs too for your chance to win some great prizes!

Enter below for a chance to CHOOSE ONE BOOK from those shown below + swag!
Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu (ARC)
~OR~
The Fire Opal by Regina McBride (Pb)

If you win, we will contact you for your book choice and addy...
GOOD LUCK! 

Rules...
*Must be a blog follower.
*Must live in the U.S. to enter.
*Must be 13 or older to participate.
Libby Blog is not responsible for any lost or damaged items in the mail. The winner will be notified via email and must respond with their address and book selection within 48 hours, or a new winner will be selected.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, March 23, 2013

2nd Annual Kick-butt Characters Giveaway Hop

Welcome to our stop on the Kick-butt Characters Giveaway Hop at Libby Blog from March 23 - March 28 co-hosted by I Am a Reader, Not a Writer and Good Choice Reading. There are 100+ blogs in this hop; please stop by the other blogs too for your chance to win some great prizes!

Enter below for a chance to CHOOSE ONE BOOK from those shown below + swag!
Angel by James Patterson (Pb)
Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins (ARC)
Legend by Marie Lu (HC)

If you win, we will contact you for your book choice and addy...
GOOD LUCK! 

Rules...
*Must be a blog follower.
*Must live in the U.S. to enter.
*Must be 13 or older to participate.
Libby Blog is not responsible for any lost or damaged items in the mail. The winner will be notified via email and must respond with their address and book selection within 48 hours, or a new winner will be selected.

Our Week in Books...

This is our week in books at Libby Blog! 
This feature is not our own original idea and is inspired by so many others that are out there (esp. IMM by Story Siren and Stacking the Shelves by Tynga's Review) with the goal of sharing our new books and getting to know one another a bit better in the book blogging world. If you have a similar post for the week, please share it in the comments so we can comment back...

From the Library...
The Archived by Victoria Schwab (Hyperion)
The Diviners by Libba Bray (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)
Epic Fail by Claire LaZebnik (HarperTeen)
Everlost by Neal Schuserman (Simon Pulse)
Flyaway by Helen Landalf (Graphia/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Seraphina by Rachel Hartman (Random House Books for Young Readers)
Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey (Speak/Penguin)
The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight Jennifer E. Smith (Poppy/Little, Brown Books)
The Summer of Firsts and Lasts by Terra Elan McVoy (Simon Pulse)

Bought...
Requiem by Lauren Oliver (HarperTeen)
The Friday Society by Adrienne Kress (Dial/Penguin)
Fragments by Dan Wells (HarperTeen)

WON from the FABULOUS WinterHaven Books...

Legend by Marie Lu (Putnam Juvenile)
Prodigy by Marie Lu (Putnam Juvenile)
Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff (Razorbill)
ALL SIGNED!!! :)


What did you get for your libby this week?

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #61 - This is What Happy Looks Like and If I Should Die

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Be sure to post a link to your Waiting on Wednesday below!

This week's pre-publication "We can't wait to read it!" selections are...

Release Date: April 2, 2013
Published by: Poppy

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends town girl Ellie O'Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds. 
Then Graham finds out that Ellie's Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media's spotlight at all costs? (Summary from Goodreads)

Doesn't this sound like a light, fun, sweet teenage romance. I love a story like this for a spring break read :) 


Author: Amy Plum
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Published by: HarperTeen

I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself. Vincent waited lifetimes to find, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France's immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want. 
It shouldn't be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he's not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.
After what we've already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying-to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others-so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me? (Summary from Goodreads)

These are the most beautiful and romantic books. I just get lost in them! I LOVE them and can't wait to see what happens next. 

What are you waiting on this week?

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Book Trailer Thursday #60 - Emblaze by Jessica Shirvington

Book Trailer Thursday is a feature inspired by Once Upon a TwilightWe are hoping to promote not only new books that are out or are soon to be out on the shelves, but to also promote the creation of book trailers themselves! Make sure to post a comment below and let us know what you've found out there this week!


Release Date: March 5, 2013
Published by: Sourcebooks Fire

Once again Violet Eden faces an impossible choice...and the consequences are unimaginable.
Violet has come to terms with the fact that being part angel, part human, means her life will never be as it was.
Now Violet has something Phoenix - the exiled angel who betrayed her - will do anything for, and she has no intention of letting it fall into his hands. The only problem is that he has something she needs too.
Not afraid to raise the stakes, Phoenix seemingly holds all the power, always one step ahead. And when he puts the final pieces of the prophecy together, it doesn't take him long to realize exactly who he needs in order to open the gates of Hell. 
With the help of surprising new allies, ancient prophecies are deciphered, a destination set and, after a shattering confrontation with her father, Violet leaves for the islands of Greece without knowing if she will have a home to return to... (Summary from Goodreads)

I have book 1 & 2 waiting for me on my NOOK! I have GOT to get to them now that book 3 is available! :) These look SO GOOD! 

What did you find out there this week?

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #60 - A Touch of Scarlet and Taken

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Be sure to post a link to your Waiting on Wednesday below!

This week's pre-publication "We can't wait to read it!" selections are...

Author: Eve Marie Mont
Release Date: March 26, 2013
Published by: K-Teen

The compelling heroine of Eve Marie Mont's novel a Breath of Eyre returns to find truth and fiction merging through the pages of Nathaniel Hawthorne's classic, The Scarlet Letter...

Emma Townsend is back at prestigious Lockwood Prep, but her world has altered immeasurably since her tumultuous sophomore year. The best change of all: her boyfriend, Gray. And though Gray is leaving for Coast Guard training, Emma feels newly optimistic, even if the pain of her mother's long-ago death still casts a shadow. 
Yet Emma isn't the only one who's changed. Her friend and roommate, Michelle, is strangely remote, and old alliances are shifting in disconcerting ways. Soon Emma's long-distance relationship with Gray is straining under the pressure, and Emma wonders if she's cracking too. How else to explain the vivid dreams of Hester Prynne she's been having since she started reading The Scarlet Letter? Or the way she's found herself waking in the woods? As her life begins to echo events in the novel, Emma will be forced to choose between virtue and love. But can she forge a new future without breaking her heart? (Summary from Goodreads)

Okay, I marked Mont's other novel as "to read" and haven't gotten to it, but now I want both of these stories. I love the concept that she is pulling from classic novels and twisting them into new and interesting tales.


Taken 
(Taken, Book 1)
Author: Erin Bowman
Release Date: April 16, 2013
Published by: HarperTeen

There are no men in Claysoot. There are boys - but every one of them vanishes at midnight on his eighteenth birthday. The ground shakes, the wind howls, a blinding light descends...and he's gone.
The call it the Heist.
Gray Weathersby's eighteenth birthday is mere months away, and he's prepared to meet his fate - until he finds a strange note from his mother and starts to question everything he's been raised to accept: the Council leaders and their obvious secrets. The Heist itself. And what lies beyond the Wall that surrounds Claysoot - a structure that no one can cross and survive. 
Climbing the Wall is suicide, but what comes after the Heist could be worse. Should he sit back and wait to be taken - or risk everything on the hope of the other side?  (Summary from Goodreads)

THIS COVER! AND, that description! Are you kidding me! I MUST read this one to find out what's happening...where are the men? Why midnight at 18? Why wind? Why light? What the heck? Holy moly!!!! I have got to read this!!!!

What are you waiting on this week?

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Book Trailer Thursday #59 - The Nightmare Affair and City of a Thousand Dolls

Book Trailer Thursday is a feature inspired by Once Upon a TwilightWe are hoping to promote not only new books that are out or are soon to be out on the shelves, but to also promote the creation of book trailers themselves! Make sure to post a comment below and let us know what you've found out there this week!

Author: Mindee Arnett
Release Date: March 5, 2013
Published by: Tor Teen

Sisteen-year-old Dusty Everhart breaks into houses late at night, but not because she's a criminal. No, she's a Nightmare.
Literally.
Being the only Nightmare at Arkwell Academy, a boarding school for magickind, and living in the shadow of her mother's infamy, is hard enough. But when Dusty sneaks into Eli Booker's house, things get a whole lot more complicated. He's hot, which means sitting on his chest and invading his dreams couldn't get much more embarrassing  But it does. Eli is dreaming of murder. Then Eli's dream comes true.
Now Dusty has to follow the clues--both within Eli's dreams and out of them--to stop the killer before more people turn up dead. And before the killer learns what she's up to and marks her as the next target. (Summary from Goodreads)

This is a great trailer and the book dropped YESTERDAY! TOO cool! I love this cover too! I am VERY intrigued by all the mystery since it seems to be implying that this boy isn't the actual killer somehow...mysterious...



Release Date: February 5, 2013
Published by: HarperTeen

An exotic treat set in an entirely original, fantastical world brimming with deadly mystery, forbidden romance, and heart-stopping adventure.
Nisha was abandoned at the gates of the City of a Thousand Dolls when she was a child. Now sixteen, she lives on the grounds of the isolated estate, where orphan girls apprentice as musicians, healers, courtesans, and, if the rumors are true, assassins. Nisha makes her was as Matron's assistant, her closest companions the mysterious cats that trail her shadow. Only when she begins a forbidden flirtation with the city's handsome young courier does she let herself imagine a life outside the walls. Until one by one, girls around her start to die.
Before she becomes the next victim, Nisha decides to uncover the secrets that surround the girls' deaths. But by getting involved, Nisha jeopardizes not only her own future in the City of a Thousand Dolls--but her own life. (Summary from Goodreads)


WHOA! This sounds EPIC!! I haven't read a high fantasy in a while...I think it's about time! The trailer isn't that thrilling, but just as beautiful as THAT BEAUTIFUL COVER! I wanted to share this one even though it's been out for a month because people have been RAVING about it who have been reading it, but it's also not getting much hype either! :( So I wanted to give it a bit of hype! :) So go to a libby near you and check it out!


What did you find out there this week?

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday #59 - Legacy of the Clockwork Key and Dark Triumph

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. Be sure to post a link to your Waiting on Wednesday below!

This week's pre-publication "We can't wait to read it!" selections are...

Author: Kristin Bailey
Release Date: March 5, 2013
Published by: Simon Pulse

When a fire consumes Meg's home, killing her parents and destroying both her fortune and her future, all she has left is the tarnished pocket watch she rescued from the ashes. But this is no ordinary timepiece. The clock turns out to be a mechanical key--a key that only Meg can use--that unlocks a series of deadly secrets and intricate clues that Meg is compelled to follow. 
Meg has uncovered evidence of an elite secret society and a dangerous invention that some will stop at nothing to protect--and that Meg alone can destroy. Together with the handsome stable hand she barely knows but hopes she can trust, Meg is swept into a hidden world of deception, betrayal, and revenge. The clockwork key has unlocked her destiny in this captivating start to a trilogy. (Summary from Goodreads)

I know this came out yesterday, but it sounded sooooooo interesting. I couldn't just not feature it! I'm more than curious about the mystery and danger that this description evokes. Can't wait to read it!


Author: Robin LaFevers
Release Date: April 2, 2013
Published by: Houghton Mifflin Books for Children

Sybella arrives at the convent's doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge--but at a price. Naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, the convent views Sybella as one of their most dangerous weapons.
But those assassin's skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father's rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother's love is equally monstrous. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of Death himself, He must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?  (Summary from Goodreads)

Book 1 was my #1 favorite read of 2012, so that makes this book my MOST anticipated read of 2013! No pressure LaFevers! :) Plus, Sybella is in book 1, but only slightly. She is depicted so very mysteriously that you are dying to get to know her....AND she's so damaged that it makes her a perfectly broken girl which are the stories are catnip for me! (They can only end happier then they start of course! Not always, but usually.)

In case you missed the Book Trailer, it's great! I featured it recently... Click HERE to watch it! 

What are you waiting on this week?

Cover Reveal: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo


(The Grisha, Book 2)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Release date: June 4, 2013
Published by: Henry Holt and Co.

What a GORGEOUS COVER! I have book 1 waiting for me on my shelves so as soon as I have this one I am cracking these open! :) 

What do you think of it?

Saturday, March 2, 2013

Review: Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo

The Tale of Despereaux 
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Illustrator: Timothy Basil Ering
Release date: August 25, 2003
Published by: Candlewick Press
Award: Newbery Medal
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

A teeny, tiny mouse, a princess, and soup...that's right, soup! This is a tale that beings with Once Upon a Time...but may not follow exactly how you think it should reader. Just be patient though because you'll that just because are tiny may not mean that you cannot be a knight in shining armor. It may mean that you just need to do things differently then others and that can be ok too...so follow along as Despereaux Tilling takes you on an adventure like you've never been on before...

My thoughts: I read this one aloud with my daughters at bed-time in pieces each night and was really looking forward to it since it was a Newbery Winner. THIS is something as a Librarian I should know better be now, but just can't seem to yet! Grrr! Newbery's are THE MOST BIZARRE things! SO rarely are they anything anyone would select "normally"! They are weird! Bizarre! Dark! They fall into these very narrow categories for very few people who would like them and only get checked out in my libraries because teachers do assignments where they have their students literally check out a "Newbery Winner or Honor Book" This is something that makes me crazy! I honestly hate this! These books aren't books that folks like!!! Very few like them! Ok, I think I'm done now.....
Back to this one...we trudged through this one because my girls HAD to know what was going to happen to Princess Pea and little Despereaux Tilling of course! Now I completely understand that I was reading a book that was certainly a bit older level of a book but I didn't realize how "dark" it was going to be so quickly! WHAO! I almost stopped altogether with it! I mean YIKES! And DOUBLE YIKES! It's DARK! DARK!
Seriously Newbery committee!!!?? Who is ON this committee?

Final thoughts: I will NOT be reading this EVER again, BUT my daughters did stay engaged from beginning to end because of a princess and a tiny mouse...there must be something in that. (Ok, there MAY have been a crazy Librarian reading to them with VOICES, and ACCENTS, and LOTS OF CRAZY DRAMA!!!) :) Just sayin' ;)

View all my reviews